The Copper Coast Council is a progressive and successful Local Government Authority, committed to further developing the community's quality lifestyle and by making living easy.

Council will continue to strive to achieve the best outcome for its community through active facilitation of social, environmental, economic, cultural and governance initiatives in a high growth region.

The District Council covers an area of some 773 square kilometres, servicing a population of approximately 14,650 people and over four hundred thousand visitors annually. Population trends indicate a continued growth of 21% is expected over the next decade.

The 3 urban areas currently occupy approximately 19 sq. kms of the total Council area with rural farms constituting 97.5% of the district.

Residential developments in Kadina, Port Hughes, Wallaroo, North Beach and Moonta/Moonta Bay are further indicators for potential population growth and demographic shifts for the region.

This development trend has seen a constant increase in residential development resulting in a corresponding growth in community wealth.

For more information regarding the population and key statistics for the area, the  Australian Bureau of Statistics regional profile  can be found by  clicking here .

Formed in May 1997 through the amalgamation of the District Council of Northern Yorke Peninsula and the Corporation of the Town of Wallaroo. Up until the 2010 Local Government elections, the Council area was divided into four wards, before being changed to an area council with no wards. It is represented by a Mayor and nine Councillors.

Contact Council

Find Us

51 Taylor Street

PO Box 396

Kadina SA 5554

Opening Hours

Monday to Fridays

9.00am - 5.00pm

Closed Public Holidays

Subscribe with us